Social Studies

The main goal of Social Studies is to develop thoughtful, responsible, active citizens who are able to acquire the requisite information needed to consider multiple perspectives and to make reasoned judgements. The Social Studies curriculum provides students with opportunities as citizens to critically reflect upon events and issues in order to examine the present, make connections to the past, and consider the future.

Social Studies Department Members

Mr. Jozsef Budai (department head) Jozsef.Budai@burnabyschools.ca
Mr. Robert Kushlick Robert.Kushlick@burnabyschools.ca
Ms. Erica Torresan Erica.Torresan@burnabyschools.ca
Ms. Jyoti Panesar Jyoti.Panesar@burnabyschools.ca
Mr. Richard Rolph Richard.Rolph@burnabyschools.ca
Ms. Sandy Ryant Sandy.Ryant@burnabyschools.ca
Ms. Nancy Vangelista (class website) Nancy.Vangelista@burnabyschools.ca
Mr. Ryan Jack Ryan.Jack@burnabyschools.ca

Grade 8-10 Required Social Studies Courses

Social Studies 8 or Social Studies 8 Enriched
Social Studies 9 or Social Studies 9 Enriched
Social Studies 10 or Social Studies 10 Enriched or Social Studies 10 Language Adapted

Grade 11 and 12 Social Studies Elective Courses

Once students enter their grade 11 year, they are required to take one Social Studies elective course.  The Social Studies Department offers a variety of elective courses to suit the varied interests and diverse requirements of our students.  Students must choose from 1 of the following in their grade 11 year (but may choose to take as many as they wish):

Electives

Explorations in Social Studies 11
20th Century World History 12
Contemporary Indigenous Studies 12
Law Studies 12
Philosophy 12
Physical Geography 12
Psychology 11
Psychology 12
Social Justice 12

Advanced Placement (AP)

Students with strong academic background are able to take AP courses.  Students who complete an AP 12 course in either grade 11 or 12, and write an associated AP exam (in May) can qualify for post-secondary credit at universities and colleges.  See counselors or Social Studies teachers for more details.  There is an extra fee to write each AP exam.

AP Art History 12
AP European History 12
AP Human Geography 12
AP Macroeconomics (combo)
AP Microeconomics (combo)
AP Psychology 12

Please Click Here for Course and Information Guide for 2019/2020  – This page is coming soon.